U2 Soundtrack Album: More Details

| No Comments

1.18.00 - music365

More information, including a full tracklisting, has surfaced regarding the soundtrack to the forthcoming Wim Wenders movie The Million Dollar Hotel, featuring new material from U2.

To be released through Universal Island on March 13, the album was recorded in Dublin and features 16 tracks from the film. It was produced by Hal Willner and includes two new U2 tracks and three new tracks co-written by Bono and various members of the all-star Million Dollar Hotel Band (see below for line-up details).

As previously reported on Music365, the opening track, 'The Ground Beneath Her Feet' is by U2 with lyrics by Salman Rushdie from his novel of the same name. The soundtrack also includes the movie's female lead Milla Jovovich performing Lou Reed's 'Satellite Of Love'.

The Million Dollar Hotel stars Mel Gibson, Jeremy Davies (Saving Private Ryan) and Milla Jovovich (The Fifth Element) and is based on a story written by Bono and Nicholas Klein with a screenplay by Nicholas Klein. It was filmed on location in Los Angeles in 1999.

The full track listing is:
1) 'The Ground Beneath Her Feet' U2 with Daniel Lanois
2) 'Never Let Me Go' Bono and the MDH Band
3) 'Stateless' U2
4) 'Satellite Of Love' Milla Jovovich and the MDH Band and Chris Spedding
5) 'Falling At Your Feet' Bono and Daniel Lanois
6) 'Tom Tom's Dream' The MDH Band
7) 'The First Time' U2
8) 'Bathtub' The MDH Band
9) 'The First Time (Reprise)' Daniel Lanois and the MDH Band
10) 'Tom Tom's Room' Brad Mehldau with Bill Frisell
11) 'Funny Face' The MDH Band
12) 'Dancin' Shoes' Bono and the MDH band
13) 'Amsterdam Blue (Cortge)' Jon Hassell, Gregg Arreguin, Jamie Muhoberac & Peter Freeman
14) 'Satellite Of Love (Reprise)' The MDH Band featuring Daniel Lanois, Bill Frisell, Greg Cohen
15) 'Satellite Of Love (Danny Saber Remix)' Milla Jovovich with the MDH Band and Chris Spedding
16) 'Anarchy In The USA' Tito Larriva and the MDH Band with Larry Mullen, Adam Clayton & Chris Spedding

The Million Dollar Hotel Band features Bono (vocals, guitar, piano), Daniel Lanois (guitars, vocals, pedal steel), Brian Eno, (keyboards), John Hassell (trumpet), Greg Cohen (Bass), Brian Blade (drums), Adam Dom (beats/synth/programming) and Bill Frisell (guitar).

U2 are currently in the studio recording their tenth studio album which is due for release later this year.

Visit the film website on www.milliondollarhotel.com from Tuesday January 18.

Copyright © 1998, 1999, 2000 365 Corporation plc, and all rights are reserved.

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Jonathan published on January 18, 2000 10:28 PM.

U2 concert announcement 'misunderstanding' was the previous entry in this blog.

Bono's speech at the NRJ Music Awards in Cannes is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives


OpenID accepted here Learn more about OpenID