November 1983 Archives

Under A Blood Red Sky

Under A Blood Red Sky Front Sleeve

Under A Blood Red Sky
Front Sleeve | Purchase Album

Release Date: November 7, 1983

Highest Chart Position: UK: 2 USA: 28

Liner Notes:

All songs composed by U2. Producer: Jimmy Iovine. Mixed by Shelly Yakus at the Hit Factory, NYC. Assistant engineering by Bobby Cohen. Mastered by Stephen Marcussen at Precision Lacquer, LA. Design by RX for The Creative Department, Dublin. Monitor photography by Jacobus van Hespen from "Under a Blood Red Sky" a "U2 at Red Rocks Associates" production.

Track List:

  1. Gloria (4:32)
  2. 11 O'Clock Tick Tock (4:34)
  3. I Will Follow (3:36)
  4. Party Girl (2:52)
  5. Sunday Bloody Sunday (4:55)
  6. The Electric Co. (5:18)
  7. New Year's Day (4:29)
  8. "40" (3:36)


  • Australia: Island L20033 (Promo / Red Vinyl), Island L20033 (Black or Green Vinyl / Mispress)
  • Canada: Island 79 01271, Island 818 008-4, Island CID 113
  • Germany: Island 610 559/CID 113, Island 610 559
  • Ireland: CBS 25801X
  • Israel: Island ANIMA3, Island, CID113
  • Japan: Island 20S-192, Island / Polystar P33D-20019
  • Mexico: Island / Bertelsmann LA 574
  • UK: Island CID 113, Island IMA 3, Island IMC 3, Island U2-1 (Promo / 1000 Copies)
  • USA: Island 90127-1-B, Island 90127-2, Island 90127-4, Island 422-818 008-2

Live At Red Rocks: Under A Blood Red Sky

Live At Red Rocks: Under A Blood Red Sky Front Sleeve

Live At Red Rocks: Under A Blood Red Sky
Front Sleeve | Purchase DVD

Original Release Date: November 1983

DVD Release Date: September 30, 2008

Duration: 60 Minutes (VHS), 82 Minutes (DVD)

Liner Notes (VHS):

Produced by Gavin Taylor. The Dublin-based band U2 performs live at Colorado's dramatic outdoor Red Rocks Amphitheater, Denver, Colorado, June 1983. "Sunday Bloody Sunday," "Gloria," and "New Year's Day" are among the feature hits included. HiFi Sound. Stereo Sound. Not Rated.

Liner Notes (DVD):

Producer (2008 Edition): Ned O'Hanlon. Producer (Mastering), Audio Consultant and Quality Control: Cheryl Engels. Stereo And 5.1 Surround Mix: Carl Glanville. Mastered By (Assistance): Scott Sedillo. Director: Gavin Taylor. Production Manager: Tara Mullen. Project Manager: Candida Bottaci, Steve Matthews. Sound Mix Assistant: Rob Macomber. Video Producer (Production Associate): Malcolm Gerrie. Video Producer: Doug Stewart, Rick Wurpel. Photography: Greg Wigler. Artwork By (Cover Design & Art Direction): Steve Averill. Artwork By (Packaging Design): Gary Kelly. DVD With 5.1 Audio, New Stereo Mix, Regarded Picture. Concert Available For The First Time On DVD. Included 5 Previously Unreleased Songs Plus Director's Commentary. Filmed at Red Rocks Amphitheatre, Denver, Colorado on 5th June 1983. Picture Re-edit/Mastering: Windmill Lane Ltd., Dublin. DVD authoring, design and compression: Abbey Road Interactive, London. DVD: 1 x DVD 9. Duration: 82 Mins Approx. Aspect: 4:3. Sound: PCM stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround, DTS 5.1 Surround. Language: English. Subtitles (director's commentary only): English, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Dutch.

Track List:

  1. Surrender
  2. Seconds
  3. Sunday Bloody Sunday
  4. October
  5. New Year's Day
  6. I Threw A Brick Through A Window
  7. A Day Without Me
  8. Gloria
  9. Party Girl
  10. 11 O'Clock Tick Tock
  11. I Will Follow
  12. "40"

Track List (Remastered DVD Edition):

  1. Out Of Control
  2. Twilight
  3. An Cat Dubh/Into The Heart
  4. Surrender
  5. Two Hearts Beat As One
  6. Seconds
  7. Sunday Bloody Sunday
  8. The Cry/The Electric Co.
  9. October
  10. New Year's Day
  11. I Threw A Brick Through A Window
  12. A Day Without Me
  13. Gloria
  14. Party Girl
  15. 11 O'Clock Tick Tock
  16. I Will Follow
  17. "40"


  • Canada:
    • VHS: Island Visual Arts 440 083 299-3
  • Europe:
    • DVD: Universal 1764968
  • France:
    • VHS: Virgin Video VVD045
  • Russia:
    • CD-V: Polygram Video IDK0012
  • UK:
    • VHS: Virgin Video VVD045
  • USA:
    • LaserDisc: RCA / Columbia ID6039RC
    • VHS: RCA / Columbia 433 966 061-3

About this Archive

This page is an archive of entries from November 1983 listed from newest to oldest.

August 1983 is the previous archive.

September 1984 is the next archive.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.