Under A Blood Red Sky

Under A Blood Red Sky Front Sleeve

Under A Blood Red Sky
Front Sleeve | Purchase Album

Release Date: November 7, 1983

Highest Chart Position: UK: 2 USA: 28

Liner Notes:

All songs composed by U2. Producer: Jimmy Iovine. Mixed by Shelly Yakus at the Hit Factory, NYC. Assistant engineering by Bobby Cohen. Mastered by Stephen Marcussen at Precision Lacquer, LA. Design by RX for The Creative Department, Dublin. Monitor photography by Jacobus van Hespen from "Under a Blood Red Sky" a "U2 at Red Rocks Associates" production.

Track List:

  1. Gloria (4:32)
  2. 11 O'Clock Tick Tock (4:34)
  3. I Will Follow (3:36)
  4. Party Girl (2:52)
  5. Sunday Bloody Sunday (4:55)
  6. The Electric Co. (5:18)
  7. New Year's Day (4:29)
  8. "40" (3:36)


  • Australia: Island L20033 (Promo / Red Vinyl), Island L20033 (Black or Green Vinyl / Mispress)
  • Canada: Island 79 01271, Island 818 008-4, Island CID 113
  • Germany: Island 610 559/CID 113, Island 610 559
  • Ireland: CBS 25801X
  • Israel: Island ANIMA3, Island, CID113
  • Japan: Island 20S-192, Island / Polystar P33D-20019
  • Mexico: Island / Bertelsmann LA 574
  • UK: Island CID 113, Island IMA 3, Island IMC 3, Island U2-1 (Promo / 1000 Copies)
  • USA: Island 90127-1-B, Island 90127-2, Island 90127-4, Island 422-818 008-2

Media Review:

Review: Under a Blood Red Sky

3 1/2 stars (out of 5)

By Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All Music Guide

War turned U2 into arena rock stars, and the EP Under a Blood Red Sky captures the band on its supporting tour as the bandmembers adjusted to their larger audiences. Unsurprisingly for a band that always favored the grand statement, the group flourished in such a setting, as this mini-EP attests. Comprised of material recorded in America and Germany, Under a Blood Red Sky draws equally from the band's first three albums, and these live versions, while less textured, are considerably tougher than their studio counterparts and illustrate quite effectively why U2 were considered one of the best, most exhilarating live bands of the '80s.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Jonathan published on November 7, 1983 7:00 AM.

Live At Red Rocks: Under A Blood Red Sky was the previous entry in this blog.

Pride (In The Name Of Love) is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.