U2 Go Home: Live From Slane Castle

U2 Go Home: Live From Slane Castle Front Sleeve

U2 Go Home: Live From Slane Castle
Front Sleeve | Purchase DVD

Release Date: November 17, 2003

Duration: 132 Minutes

Liner Notes:

Filmed on September 1, 2001 at Slane Castle, Co. Meath, Ireland. Aspect: 16:9. Sound: PCM Stereo, DTS, Dolby 5.1 Surround. Duration: 2 Hours 12 Minutes. Language: English. Subtitles: English, French, Spanish, German, Barazilian portuguese. DVD: 1x DVD 9. Concert Film: Producer: Ned O'Hanlon. Live show director: Hamish Hamilton. Executive Producer: Paul McGuinness. Creative Director: Maurice Linnane. Editor: Brian McCue. Unforgettable Fire Documentary: Filmed in 1984. Digitally remastered and re-graded. Writer and Director: Barry Devlin. Producer: James Morris. Editor: Finola Vereker. Aspect: 4:3. A Windmill Lane Production. Sleeve / Packaging Design by Four5One Creative. A Dreamchaser production for U2 Limited. All titles written by U2 and published by Universal Music Publishing International., except Blue Mountain Music Ltd (UK), Mother Music (Ireland). "Bullet the Blue Sky" chant sung by Sinead O'Connor. Produced by John Reynolds.

Track List:

  1. Elevation (4:58)
  2. Beautiful Day (4:24)
  3. Until The End Of The World (5:24)
  4. New Year's Day (4:52)
  5. Out Of Control (5:50)
  6. Sunday Blood Sunday (7:11)
  7. Wake Up Dead Man (2:02)
  8. Stuck In A Moment You Can't Get Out Of (4:59)
  9. Kite (6:01)
  10. Angel Of Harlem (3:47)
  11. Desire (4:25)
  12. Staring At The Sun (3:43)
  13. All I Want Is You (4:47)
  14. Where The Streets Have No Name (5:49)
  15. Pride (In The Name Of Love) (5:01)
  16. Bullet The Blue Sky (Producer [Chant]: John Reynolds. Vocals [Chant]: Sinéad O'Connor) (6:57)
  17. With Or Without You (5:56)
  18. One (5:34)
  19. Walk On (6:42)
  20. Mysterious Ways (6:27)
  21. The Unforgettable Fire Documentary (Camera: Declan Quinn. Director & Writer: Barry Devlin. Video Editor: Finola Vereker. Video Producer: James Morris. Recorded by: Bill Felton) (28:03)


  • Australia:
    • DVD: Island 9813513, Island 9811966 (Digipak)
  • Canada:
    • DVD: Island 0249813514, Island 0249811969 (Digipak)
  • Europe:
    • DVD: Island 9813513, Island 9811966 (Digipak)
  • Japan:
    • DVD: Island UIBI1004 (Digipak)
  • USA:
    • DVD: Interscope B0001669-09, Interscope B0001431-09 (Digipak)

Media Review:

Review: U2 Go Home: Live from Slane Castle [DVD]

4 stars (out of 5)

By MacKenzie Wilson, All Music Guide

Regardless of how big U2 is, and where each member stands as a musician, politician, celebrity, or family man, the four childhood friends always return to their roots. U2 Go Home: Live From Slane Castle marks the joyous return of Ireland's top band at the close of their 2001 Elevation Tour. This DVD set, which is the band's second video release of the same tour, was filmed in early September at Slane Castle, the famous residence where U2 recorded their 1984 album, The Unforgettable Fire. The band's transition from being an opening act in 1981 to headlining at the treasured venue 20 years later captures their everlasting appeal. Conquering stadiums around the world is what they do best, but what's brought them to Slane Castle is obviously the music -- and love for their fans. Sharing in celebration is what makes U2 Go Home: Live From Slane Castle a solid live show because once more, the band has translated their brilliance in the studio into a fantastic, raw presentation. Loyalist or not, U2 is a magnetic live band, and at their level, they've maintained their special kind of rock & roll. "Out of Control" sounds as sharp as it did in 1980, and "Beautiful Day" could possibly be the band's best stadium anthem ever. Spending time with this concert package will leave you grinning from ear to ear -- not only because you like U2 -- but because they've tricked you once more into believing that they're the best rock & roll band in the world. [Bonus interactive material as well as a digitally remastered version of The Unforgettable Fire documentary is included here].

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Jonathan published on November 17, 2003 7:52 AM.

The Best Of 1990-2000 was the previous entry in this blog.

Vertigo is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.