All That You Can't Leave Behind

All That You Can't Leave Behind Front Sleeve

All That You Can't Leave Behind
Front Sleeve | Purchase Album

Release Date: October 30, 2000

Highest Chart Position: UK: 1 USA: 3

Liner Notes:

Music: U2. Lyrics: Bono and The Edge except trk 12 Lyrics by Salman Rushdie. Produced by: Daniel Lanois and Brian Eno. Additional production: Steve Lillywhite, Mike Hedges, Richard Stannard and Julian Gallagher. Engineered by: Richard Rainey. Assisted by: Chris Heaney. Mixed by: Richard Rainey, Tim Palmer, Mike Hedges, Richard Stannard and Julian Gallagher, Brian Eno, Daniel Lanois, Steve Fitzmaurice. Mixing assisted by: Chris Heaney, Alvin Sweeney, Jay Goin. Additional enginneering: Tim Palmer, Stephen Harris, Ger McDonnell, Mark Howard, Alex Haas. Additional engineering assisted by: Keith McDonnel, Stephen Harris. Recorded at HQ, Windmill Lane Recording Studios, Westland Studios and Totally Wired in Dublin, and South of France. Studio Crew: Studio Manager/Drum Tech: Sam O'Sullivan. Studio Tech: Rab McAllister. Guitar Tech: Fraser McAlister. Mastered by Annie Acosta at The Mastering Lab, Los Angeles. Audio Post Production Manager and Technical Guru: Cheryl Engels at Partial Productions Inc.. Catering by: Nude, Sandy Jameson, Shiela Steward, Cathy Addis, Gerry Quinn, The Tea Room. Sleeve designed at Four 5 One Design, Dublin by: Shaughn McGarth. Art Direction: Steve Averill. Cover and interior photography by Anton Corbijn. Photography at Roissy Hall 2F, Charles de Gaulle Airport - Paris - Architect Payul Andreu/ADP. Lyrics reproduced by kind permission of the publishers. All titles written by U2 and published by PolyGram International Music Publishing B.V. except Blue Mountain Music Ltd (UK), Mother Music (Irl.), except track 12 published by PolyGram International Music Publishing B.V. except Blue Mountain Music Ltd (UK), Mother Music (Irl.)/Universal Music Publshing Ltd. Album Production Managers: Sheila Roche and Candida Bottaci. Album Production Assistant: Sam O'Sullivan.

Track List:

  1. Beautiful Day (4:06)
  2. Stuck In A Moment You Can't Get Out Of (4:33)
  3. Elevation (3:48)
  4. Walk On (4:57)
  5. Kite (4:25)
  6. In A Little While (3:40)
  7. Wild Honey (3:47)
  8. Peace On Earth (4:49)
  9. When I Look At The World (4:14)
  10. New York (5:31)
  11. Grace (5:45)
  12. The Ground Beneath Her Feet (3:44) (Bonus Track)


  • Argentina: Island 524 653-2
  • Australia: Island 548 095-2, Island 548 653-4
  • Brazil: Island 524 653-2
  • Canada: Island 314 524 653-2, Island 314 548 653-4
  • Japan: Island UICI 1002
  • Korea: Island DI 8145
  • Mexico: Island 524 653-2
  • South Africa: Island STARCD6595
  • Taiwan: Island 524 653-2
  • UK: Island CIDU212/548 095-2, Island U212/524 653-1, Island UC212/548 285-4
  • USA: Interscope CIDXU212/314 524 653-2, Interscope 314 524 653-2, Interscope 314 548 329-2

Media Review:

Review: All That You Can't Leave Behind

4 stars (out of 5)

By Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All Music Guide

Nearly ten years after beginning U2 Mach II with their brilliant seventh album Achtung Baby, U2 ease into their third phase with 2000's All That You Can't Leave Behind. The title signifies more than it seems, since the group sifts through its past, working with Daniel Lanois and Brian Eno, all in an effort to construct a classicist U2 album. Thankfully, it's a rock record from a band that absorbed all the elastic experimentation, studio trickery, dance flirtations, and genre bending of Achtung, Zooropa, and Pop -- all they've shed is the irony. U2 choose not to delve as darkly personal as they did on Achtung or Zooropa, yet they also avoid the alienating archness of Pop, returning to the generous spirit that flowed through their best '80s records. On that level, All may be reminiscent of The Joshua Tree, but this is a clever and craftsmanlike record, filled with nifty twists in the arrangements, small sonic details, and colors. U2 take subtle risks, such as their best pure pop song ever with "Wild Honey"; they're so self-confident they effortlessly write their best anthem in years with "Beautiful Day"; they offer the gospel-influenced "Stuck in a Moment," never once lowering it to the shtick it would have been on Rattle and Hum. Like any work from craftsmen, All That You Can't Leave Behind winds up being a work of modest pleasures, where the way the verse eases into the chorus means more than the overall message, and this is truly the first U2 album where that sentiment applies -- but there is genuine pleasure in their craft, for the band and listener alike.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Jonathan published on October 30, 2000 4:38 AM.

Beautiful Day was the previous entry in this blog.

Stuck In A Moment You Can't Get Out Of is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.